Canadians at Belleville

Continuing his report on the Belleville Clergy Conference, Fr. Lee Kenyon writes:

Canadian clergy at BellevilleSt John’s clergy, past and present. Our Parish Deacon, Deacon Martens sits facing away, on the far left, talking to Jane Hodgins, Fr Hodgins’ wife, and Barbara Shier, wife of Fr Michael Shier, the Administrator at Our Lady of Walsingham, Vancouver. Fr Jonathan Gibson, Parochial Vicar here at St John’s, sits to my right. Taking the photograph is Fr John Hodgins, Parochial Administrator at St Thomas More, Toronto. He was a parishioner at St John’s back in the 1970s. So, this was the Canadian corner of the room!

Fr. Michael Birch 1 Fr. Michael Birch 2

My predecessor at St John’s is the cheeky chap seen above, Fr Michael Birch, who served as Rector of the former Anglican parish from 1974-1984. It’s hard to believe that I didn’t even exist for the first four years of his time at St John’s (as I often remind him!), but he was a young rector here in the parish. He is now retired and serves alongside Fr Don Malins at Blessed John Henry Newman, Victoria, as Parochial Vicar and delights in taking photographs of his beloved Dean(!)

Another piece of news to share is that Msgr Steenson formally appointed Fr Carl Reid, formerly of the Annunciation, Ottawa, as the new Priest Administrator of Blessed John Henry Newman, Victoria, in succession to Msgr Peter Wilkinson, who will remain a part of the community, thus allowing him much more time to assist the Anglicanae Traditiones commission as it works towards the final completion of the Divine Worship Missal, which is now delayed until sometime in 2015.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Canadians at Belleville

  1. EPMS says:

    Do we not find it odd that the OOLSC, with a total clerical membership of what, a dozen? co-sponsors the monthly Portal magazine and produces Australia Wide regularly, while the OCSP seems to rely on the kndness of others to get any online coverage whatever? None of the stories Mr Murphy has shared with us in the last six months have made it onto the OCSP website, which is generally out of date. It is a shame to see Fr Kenyon praise the spirit of a conference whose focus was on Evangelism and feel that the wider message is not making it out of the room.

  2. EPMS, my comments with regard to the clergy assembly were personal, borne of my positive experience of the speaker and the fraternal fellowship amongst the clergy and their wives. I understand that you may feel frustrated at the lack of information on the Internet, but regular updates to the Ordinariate website, or more frequent Ordinariate newsletters, and the like is often beyond the ability of any one priest. The Communications officer is shortly gathering copy for the second edition of the Ordinariate Observer, due in Advent.

    I am sorry that you feel that the “wider message is not making it out of the room” but many of us, although we are engaged in full-time daily parochial Ordinariate ministry, do what we can for those “outside the room”, with blogs and so forth, in order to get the message out. If you were in one of our parishes, I’m sure that your perspective might be somewhat different. Whilst the internet has proven to be a very important tool in the service of evangelism and Christian witness, the Church is not primarily dependent upon it for mission and outreach. I can assure you that the message has most certainly “made it out of the room” in Belleville and into my own parish. And if that wasn’t the case then that would be the real shame.

    Pax,

    Fr Kenyon

  3. Pingback: News over at Ordinariate Expats | Foolishness to the world

  4. EPMS says:

    Forgive me, Fr Kenyon, but I think the experience of your own parish, St John the Evangelist, rather proves my point. Your parish is large and active, you have a young family, duties as VF, staff to supervise, and a capital campaign to oversee. Yet the sophisticated parish website is kept scrupulously up to date, the posted notices from the weekly leaflet provide a wealth of information on parish activities, and you have a blog. And the parish is growing!

  5. I have “pruned” the foregoing comments on this post, since it was felt that the authors were washing dirty laundry in public and thus harming the Ordinariate, which, I believe, was not the intention.

    • Paul Nicholls ofs says:

      I wish to publicly apologize for any remarks that I made regarding the Ordinariate. I wish to do no harm to the Ordinariate cause and after some consideration, and due to a certain situation in the Oshawa Sodality, I have decided to continue as a member of the Ordinriate. I have had a change of heart in this regard. I will continue to offer my prayerful support for the success of the Ordinariate and will refrain from any negative comments. I realize that I may have alienated myself from other members of the Ordinariate by past comments. All I can do is ask for their forgiveness. I hope this reply will not be “pruned”.

      • Rev22:17 says:

        Paul,

        You wrote: I wish to publicly apologize for any remarks that I made regarding the Ordinariate. I wish to do no harm to the Ordinariate cause and after some consideration, and due to a certain situation in the Oshawa Sodality, I have decided to continue as a member of the Ordinriate. I have had a change of heart in this regard. I will continue to offer my prayerful support for the success of the Ordinariate and will refrain from any negative comments. I realize that I may have alienated myself from other members of the Ordinariate by past comments. All I can do is ask for their forgiveness. I hope this reply will not be “pruned”.

        The circumstances of which you speak are indeed unfortunate. In such situations, there’s inevitably plenty of blame to go around — but pointing fingers at one another is not constructive. Rather, each party would do well to examine what he or she could have done differently to bring about a better outcome.

        Since you are so close, I would be very curious as to whether there are similar difficulties in St. Thomas More Church in downtown Toronto, or whether the situation there seems more viable. Is there any chance that you can check out that congregation?

        Norm.

  6. EPMS says:

    Mr Nicholls, of course I know nothing of your personal circumstances but in general terms I think that the little boy who pointed out that the Emperor had no clothes was doing everyone a favour, including the Emperor.

Leave a Reply

