Only a couple more days

Christmas is approaching fast!

There only remain a couple of days for us to complete our spiritual and material preparation (last purchases, a visit to the confessional, decorating the tree, etc.).

And only a couple of days for the US Ordinariate’s quarterly Observer magazine to be published in Advent, as we had been promised. The first and last issue was in July 2014, since when there has also been almost no activity on the Ordinariate website.

So we hope that the pressing work of administering the Ordinariate will permit some communications activity in the near future, as many inside and outside the Ordinariates are hungry for news from the Ordinariate of the Chair of Saint Peter.

This blog tries to collate and (re-)post as much information as we can find,  but this cannot replace the regular provision of official news from the Ordinariate headquarters, which is working well in the other two Ordinariates.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Only a couple more days

  1. Matthew Markovich says:

    This is the one thing that disturbs me about the POotCoSP, is the lack of communication. Even the Ordinary’s blog “QUO VADIS” has been silent for 5 months. The Ordinariate website is next to useless as well. The individual parishes and groups are not much better. At least in the U.K. “THE PORTAL” serves as a clearing house for a lot of the updates and news from their members. Seems like the Ordinary and the other bishops are still trying to appease TEC, like that’s ever going to work out. By now it has become quite evident to me at least that those Episcopalians that remain are there for non-spiritual/religious reasons. It’s all for show, they want to be comfortable and are unwilling to SACRIFICE themselves and their mammon for Christ and His Church. Sad.

  2. EPMS says:

    But the majority of Msgr Steenson’s flock left TEC years ago for “continuing” bodies. I can hardly imagine that the OCSP is on the TEC radar.

  3. Paul Nicholls ofs says:

    I would urge anyone that is a member of the Personal Ordinariate of the Chair of St. Peter and has concerns about some of the issues mentioned in the post or the responses, to write to the Dean (here in Canada) or the Ordinary. Other than that, I would prefer if no public comment were made regarding these issues.

  4. EPMS says:

    Do not want to put carping message under Mr Murphy’s comprehensive and upbeat summary of 2014 in the Ordinariates, but it occurs to me that the OCSP Chancery will largely function as an extension of the host parish, Our Lady of Walsingham, Houston, for the foreseeable future. The current OCSP, with one paid employee (the Ordinary’s administrative assistant) can hardly require much in the way of office space, let alone an auditorium, educational, and meeting space, but it is entirely possible that the growing parish, with its five clergy and eight or nine staff, do. If the OCSP actually had 5 million dollars at its disposal I think it would have been better served by endowing the positions of Ordinary and/or Communications Co-ordinator.

  5. Rev22:17 says:

    David,

    You wrote: This blog tries to collate and (re-)post as much information as we can find, but this cannot replace the regular provision of official news from the Ordinariate headquarters, which is working well in the other two Ordinariates.

    I agree. There is no substitute whatsoever for official communication of what is happening in the organization, which has been sorely lacking. Lack of formal communication tends to give rise to rumors and speculation, which are inevitably destructive. I pray for improvement in this area!

    Norm.

  6. EPMS says:

    If Mr Murphy were a member of an OCSP parish I doubt that even what is provided by this blog would be available to us. The paucity of Ordinariate, or even parish, news on Mrs Gyapong’s blog, and Mr Nicholls’ many website permutations and occasional dark hints, suggest that the word has gone out from above to keep OCSP out of the blogosphere, if not entirely off the web. As Norm points out, however, trying to control the message in this way is generally self-defeating.

    • Matthew the Wayfarer says:

      Sounds like what happened to the ORTHODOX Western Rite, both the Antiochian and ROCOR. They had a sudden growth last decade and then the whole Metropolitan Philip/Bishop Mark thing blew up and the WR was effectively silenced. I find I don’t fit in anywhere neither Ordinariate nor Orthodox Western Rite. Besides, I’m no where close to any parish of either. Forget the Continuing Anglican Jurisdictions they are all stagnant. None of them have seen growth in years.

      • Rev22:17 says:

        Matthew,

        You wrote: I find I don’t fit in anywhere neither Ordinariate nor Orthodox Western Rite. Besides, I’m no where close to any parish of either.

        The ordinariates will attempt to form groups where there are sufficient numbers expressing interest, much as Archbishop (now Cardinal) Collins assembled the former Toronto Ordinariate Group that grew into the present Sodality of St. Thomas More Catholic Church (http://www.thomasmorechurch.ca). I realize that this part of the process is taking some time, as the ordinaries and their small staffs have limited resources and reception of intact congregations obviously was their first priority, but it will move forward in due course. Thus, it would be good to contact the respective ordinariate if you perceive this to be a viable option. Your inquiry might be the one that allows such a process to move forward in your geographical area.

        Norm.

  7. EPMS says:

    If I wished to indulge in conspiracy theories I might speculate that the Ordinary’s rather unusual Christmas message allowed him to avoid mentioning any highlights from 2014 or events upcoming in the New Year.

  8. EPMS says:

    On a more seious note, I see on his Facebook page that the OCSP Communications Director went into the hospital for heart surgery on Monday.

    • Rev22:17 says:

      EPMS,

      You wrote: On a more seious note, I see on his Facebook page that the OCSP Communications Director went into the hospital for heart surgery on Monday.

      This just might explain the lack of communication, especially if he has been awaiting this surgery, or even involved in a process of considerable work-up for it, for some time.

      Norm.

      • Fr. Steve Sellers actually went into hospital for a heart catheter procedure (like me earlier in the year). Where I was lucky that the doctors found no obstructions, Fr. Steve was not quite so fortunate. Here is his story, written on his facebook page on Boxing Day:

        “I have just received a second chance to live. And all it took was a miracle. A Christmas miracle. Just as the birth of the Lord Jesus twenty centuries ago in Bethlehem gave me (and all of us) a second chance to live a God-centered spiritual life, so my recent stay in the hospital has given me a chance to live a new physical life. Nothing short of a miracle could have done this. Unlike my father and my younger brother, I did not suffer a “widow-maker” heart attack — a massive myocardial infarction that brings almost instant death. Instead, the amazing medical professionals who are taking care of me found two places in one of my coronary arteries that had 80 percent obstructions, or occlusions. As soon as my cardiologist discovered the blockages, about 7:50 a.m. on Monday during my heart catheterization procedure, he repaired them by inserting two stents — to allow the blood to flow freely. My father never got that chance, and he died of a heart attack in 1970 at age 47. My brother Jeff never got that chance, either, and he died at the same age, 47, in 2002. I was on the same track, except I never knew it. I never had any symptoms (chest or back pains, shortness of breath, dizziness). In fact, I thought I was in good health, having lost almost 20 pounds by changing my dietary habits at the beginning of the school year. It took a major asthma attack in mid-October — and the wisdom and care of the nurse practitioner at my school — to discover that my blood pressure had soared well above stroke levels. A battery of tests followed, resulting in my admission to the hospital on December 22. Without the asthma attack, without the intervention of our nurse practitioner, without the persistence of my doctors, I never would have known what was going on inside my heart. I am thankful and grateful in so many new ways this Christmas. I have been given a second chance to live.”

  9. Something is clearly happening – Fr. Kenyon’s blog has now been removed from the parish website.

    I am beginning to wonder whether what I am doing is contraindicated,and wish that I could be informed if this is the case.

    David Murphy

  10. EPMS says:

    Mr Murphy, you, unlike Fr Kenyon, are not a man under the authority of the Ordinary of the OCSP. Nor, I imagine, do you see any objective value in a policy which seems to be something along the line of “Information is provided on a ‘need to know’ basis—and you don’t need to know”. Personally I find the whole veil of secrecy more alarming than any potentially bad news. What is going on that intelligent, committed adults cannot be trusted to deal with?

    • Rev22:17 says:

      EPMS,

      You wrote: What is going on that intelligent, committed adults cannot be trusted to deal with?

      That is not the issue. Rather, the issue is what can happen when a few miscreants twist and distort simple statements or edit something selectively. Don’t forget that the sentence “There is no god.” appears verbatim in the bible. Of course, the context is the sentence “The fool has said in his heart, ‘There is no god.'”

  11. EPMS says:

    Nonetheless the Church no longer tries to keep the Bible out of the hands of the laity. Instead it gives guidance in its interpretation. If the OCSP has a problem with personal blogs, and clearly it does, it should be providing an official source of information, instead of neglecting to keep the website up to date and failing to publish any sort of newsletter—a task the OOLSC seems capable of despite having a small fraction of the personnel and resources of the OCSP. Several times Australia Wide has published news items about Canada. As we have discussed previously on this blog, a North American who wished to find out more about the Ordinariate or find a nearby group would be very challenged to do so at the moment. This seems the absolute reverse of effective evangelism.

  12. EPMS says:

    Testing my own assertion that it would be difficult to search whether there was a local Ordinariate group in, say, Regina SK I wandered into a 2012 on-line discussion about whether the TLM could be offered on OCSP premises. Although I had read much of it at the time I had forgotten how a situation in Scranton had led to some comments by Msgr Steenson which were picked up by The AngloCatholic, and then Rorate Caeli, Anglican Use News, etc and finally led to an official statement on the TLM which was poorly received in some quarters. At the time someone on Rorate Caeli commented on the damage done by the blog chatter and lamented the fact that the OCSP had not got out ahead of it with press releases. Some lessons learned, but perhaps not all the right ones.

  13. EPMS says:

    I see the “Winter 2014-15” edition of the Ordinariate Observer is up on the OCSP website.

Leave a Reply

