The Ordinariate responds to now-Bishop Philip North

In case you have not read the comments added to my previous post, here are the answers given by Ordinariate clergy and people to Philip North’s “heartfelt fear” that ours would be a “diminished ministry” without “the opportunities, the depth and the riches” of ministry in the C of E and his uncertainty as to what the Ordinariate would bring to the laity:

– “what I have found (and I believe many Ordinariate priests have discovered) is that the opportunities opening up to us now are far greater than ever they were in the dear old Church of England” (Monsignor Barnes)

– “The patrimony is proving to be highly exportable. When an Ordinariate priest puts himself about in the local community, is a visible presence, takes time to be with people, he reaps the same rewards as he did as an Anglican. Indeed, he can engage in this missionary endeavour with greater confidence because he is confident in the Church he represents and knows that further down the evangelistic and catechetical road he will not be compromised by having to explain fractured communion and ecclesiological differences which mean the newly evangelised individual has to choose which segment of a fractured ecclesial body he wishes to join.” (Fr. David Waller)

– “Members of the Ordinariate are fully Catholic and welcomed as such and play a full role as part of the Catholic Church in these islands.” (Fr. David)

– “the response of the Catholic Church has been warm and generous. All of our priests have somewhere to live. Those who are able and active are engaged in full time ministry whether that be solely within the Ordinariate or, more usually, combining ministry within the Ordinariate with ministry in the wider church, eg running diocesan parishes, chaplaincy work etc. I am not aware of any priest of the Ordinariate who is underused or who is worried about his next meal.” (Fr. David)

– “I can report a clear consensus among the laity that the Ordinariate offers: Truth; Unity; a new confidence in talking about their faith; engagement with other Catholics; involvement in pro life activities; an ability to give and receive from the universal church. It enables the preservation and appreciation of much that is of the Anglican patrimony and places that as a gift within the wider church.” (Fr. David)

– “The Ordinariates have far more freedom of action that they have so far exercised and are constituted in a vehicle well designed for growth and positive change. Their potential is enormous …” (Scotrhodie)

– “Having recently become priest-in-charge of a diocesan parish, and having been ordained as Ordinariate priest for 3 years, I can honestly say that my ministry is truly fulfilling and I am fired with zeal for souls and evangelisation, which led me on the path to ministerial priesthood as a young man so many decades ago. I was in the Church of England ministry for 34 years, and for the most part as incumbent and in charge of a parish, and I now find my opportunity to preach the gospel, to minister as pastor and draw people into full sacramental life greater than ever. My sermon now has extra bite, coming no doubt from conviction of having taken the right path and assuredness of what I and the Catholic Church believe. I no longer have to make excuses for being in a church that has abandoned apostolic order and teaching, being led by secular mantra of equality and interchangeability of gender and doing disservice to the dignity of every human being, born and unborn. I will for ever be thankful to the Church of England for nurturing me in the faith and giving me opportunity to serve, but I am even more grateful to the Catholic Church in her generosity in accepting me and raising me to the priesthood so that my soul’s yearning to celebrate the sacraments and preach the gospel may find full expression and, God willing, may lead to a greater harvest of souls.” (Fr. Masaki)

All in all, it would seem that Philip North’s fears were unjustified.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Ordinariate responds to now-Bishop Philip North

  1. Bro says:

    Thank you for compiling these comments in one post.

  2. From Canada I can echo these words almost without edit:

    I was in the Anglican Church of Canada ministry for 30 years, and for the most part as incumbent and in charge of a parish, and I now find my opportunity to preach the gospel, to minister as pastor and draw people into full sacramental life greater than ever. My sermons now have extra bite, coming no doubt from conviction of having taken the right path and assuredness of what I and the Catholic Church believe. I no longer have to make excuses for being in a church that has abandoned apostolic order and teaching, being led by secular mantra of equality and interchangeability of gender and doing disservice to the dignity of every human being, born and unborn.

Leave a Reply

