Change of Pastor in Greenville, SC

The St. Anselm’s Ordinariate Community is thrilled to announce that in early February, Fr. Jonathan Duncan will move with his family to Greenville where Bishop-Elect Lopes will be appointing him priest administrator of St. Anselm’s. His primary position, during the week, will be as chaplain of St. Joseph’s Catholic School, but in addition to that he will be taking over for Fr. Chalmers, assisting at St. Mary’s and leading St. Anselm’s.

Fr. Duncan Greenville SCFollowing is a bit of background from Fr. Duncan himself:

I was raised in east Arkansas and my father was a rural Baptist-turned-Pentecostal preacher (think Robert Duvall in The Apostle) and door-to-door furniture salesman. My teen rebellion was becoming a liberal Episcopalian. I left home to attend the University of the South (Sewanee, TN) where I graduated in 2005 with a degree in Medieval Studies. It was at Sewanee that I met my now wife, Elizabeth. She grew up in Durham, NC with much of her family being from South Carolina. Elizabeth has a B.S. in Biology, working on a Masters in School Counseling. She has a background in museum education and currently teaches Middle School science. We were married after college and moved to Wisconsin where I trained at Nashotah House Episcopal Seminary. In 2008 I was ordained an episcopal priest for the Episcopal Diocese of Fort Worth and Elizabeth and I moved to Arlington, TX. There, I served as curate at St. Alban’s Episcopal Church until 2010 when I was called to be the rector of Holy Comforter Episcopal Church in Cleburne, TX. Following ordination I also served as an adjunct instructor in Liturgy/Church Music at Nashotah House. In 2013 I was received into the Catholic Church with my family and several parishioners and since then have been serving as administrator of St. John Vianney Ordinariate Community in Cleburne, Texas. Elizabeth and I have been blessed with three children and a fourth due this May. I can’t tell you how excited we are about beginning this new chapter in Greenville and about the future of St. Anselm’s.

As for Fr. Chalmers, he is returning to Birmingham, AL, to become president of Holy Family Cristo Rey High School, a private school which is part of a network providing education to disadvantaged urban youth.

(EPMS asks whether this means a new Ordinariate group will be forming in Birmingham.)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Change of Pastor in Greenville, SC

  1. EPMS says:

    And what lies ahead for St John Vianney, Cleburne, TX? Website makes no mention of the fact that Fr Duncan is leaving shortly. He is the only priest on staff.

Leave a Reply

