Novena Day 4 – Monday 9th May

with George Herbert

A SHORT OFFICE

V/. O God, make speed to save us.
R/. O Lord, make haste to help us.

Glory be to the Father and to the Son, and to the Holy Spirit:
as it was in the beginning, is now and ever shall be, world without end. Amen. Alleluia.

Novena -Day 4 imageLove bade me welcome. Yet my soul drew back
Guilty of dust and sin.
But quick-eyed Love, observing me grow slack
From my first entrance in,
Drew nearer to me, sweetly questioning,
If I lacked any thing.

A guest, I answered, worthy to be here:
Love said, You shall be he.
I the unkind, ungrateful? Ah my dear,
I cannot look on thee.
Love took my hand, and smiling did reply,
Who made the eyes but I?

Truth Lord, but I have marred them: let my shame
Go where it doth deserve.
And know you not, says Love, who bore the blame?
My dear, then I will serve.
You must sit down, says Love, and taste my meat:
So I did sit and eat.

George Herbert (1593–1633) Love III
Welsh-born English metaphysical poet, orator and Anglican priest

Silent Reflection

PSALM 23 (22)

The Lord is my shepherd; * therefore can I lack nothing.
He shall feed me in a green pasture, * and lead me forth beside the waters of comfort.
He shall convert my soul, * and bring me forth in the paths of righteousness for his Name’s sake.
Yea, though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil; * for thou art with me; thy rod and thy staff comfort me.
Thou shalt prepare a table before me in the presence of them that trouble me; * thou hast anointed my head with oil, and my cup shall be full.
Surely thy loving-kindness and mercy shall follow me all the days of my life; * and I will dwell in the house of the Lord for ever.
Glory be to the Father, and to the Son:* and to the Holy Spirit;
As it was in the beginning, is now, and ever shall be:* world without end. Amen.

LORD’S PRAYER
Our Father, who art in heaven,
hallowed be thy name;
thy kingdom come;
thy will be done,
on earth as it is in heaven.
Give us this day our daily bread.
And forgive us our trespasses,
as we forgive them that trespass against us.
And lead us not into temptation;
but deliver us from evil. Amen.

Collect
O Lord Jesus Christ,
look upon us with those eyes of yours,
the eyes with which you looked upon Peter in the hall of judgement,
that with Peter we may repent, and by your great love be forgiven and restored;
for your mercy’s sake. Amen.

Lancelot Andrewes (1555 – 1626)
A noted linguist and preacher he was by 1601 Dean of Westminster. During the reign of King James I he was successively Bishop of Chichester, Ely and Winchester, and oversaw the compiling of the Authorised Version of the Bible.

May the souls of the faithful, through the mercy of God, rest in peace. Amen
or
May the Lord bless us, may he keep us from all evil and bring us to everlasting life. Amen.

Image: Christ the Good Shepherd, Eric Gill (1882 – 1940)
English sculptor, typeface designer, stonecutter and printmaker, associated with the Arts and Crafts movement.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

